Bored at Work.

Money.

Or specifically, the lack of it.

More precisely, the lack of an excess of money. I’m not penniless, just millions of dollarsless.

It is without doubt my greatest woe that I am not super duper, Lex Luthor rich. My second woe is that I’m inconveniently simple. See, after you get married, one thing becomes important: how well you manage everyone around you. If I was super duper Lex Luthor rich I could buy off all my critics, or have them killed; if I was even averagely clever I wouldn’t need to. No, forget it. I’ll still take rich.

My parents brought me up with a few simple principles: Think the best of everyone; always give more than you expect in return; and be sincere. We were taught to be instinctly honest. It was the ‘american’ way. Leave the deceit and politics to the government, just focus on getting through the day with nothing to be ashamed of. But now I feel our education is incomplete. You can’t survive in this country being straight- it’s asking for people to cheat you, take advantage of you and overall see if they can’t leave you in their dust. As pathetic as it sounds, but sometimes I can’t help wondering,why can’t we all get along?

Khaer anyway, it’s a dog eat dog world and unfortunately i’m one of those chihuahas that belong to old ladies wearing angora sweaters; doomed to lose, as well as suffer from the lack of self-esteem that I’m sure an average chihuaha suffers from.

Anyway, what lovely weather we’re having. Too bad I can’t see the sky from my office. Wouldn’t life be lovely if we could work under the sky, but still have a nice air-conditioned setting? Tch. One can’t have everything.

Comments
11 Responses to “Bored at Work.”
  1. Minerva says:

    Uff, be positive larki. Things could be worse. You could’ve been a chihuahua that belonged to some destructive psychopath nah?

    Silver lining, my love. Silver lining.

  2. Hira S. says:

    I’d look for the silver lining except the clouds are too grey. And I’m too lazy.

  3. Haris Gulzar says:

    Visiting your blog after a long time. Nice to know you got a job. Congrats on that… As far as I remember, one of your dreams was to get loads of excess money wasn’t it? 😛

  4. Ugly Shoelace says:

    That’s .. er .. bitter.

  5. farooqk says:

    you’re alive! woot!! 😛

  6. pinkkay says:

    Super Rich people are more likely to be erm liquidated by the ones who have designs on their property (and more often than not, life insurance cash)…
    we,on the other hand, need not be afraid of such plots and their plotters…we are killed either by late-diagnosed disease or by our own hands driven to extreme depression..

    hehe..i am like the dull sunshine refracting from sour grapes

  7. Humna says:

    Lets start a business. What say? 😛

  8. Leena S says:

    well, i am really happy not being super duper rich…makes life far more worth living…i mean at least we have goals and aspirations which are bigger than ones Paris Hilton has

  9. ouchy pulouchy! Why so serious? Your mind is a wonderland, did you know?

  10. sara says:

    Bored at Work the daily titel of my life

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Hira S. is up and about again thank God. After five months of absence. I’d thought she was almost done blogging. […]



Leave a Reply

