Back. Or so i think. Again

I think I’ve forgotten how to write. I think I’ve forgotten how to think too.

Bleh. All I need is purpose. And stamina. And the will to actually DO something. And the will to actually will to do something beside stagnate in this happy pond of cable television and not-having-to-make-my-own-tea-or-iron-my-own-clothes-ness.

Snap out of it Hira. You’re the Tarantino girl, remember?

Eh, who?

Egbert Junior the Second is now a proud member of this household. He’s suffering from low self esteem, what with all these laptops; but at least he knows he’s needed and loved. Anyway now that I have a proper 25 kilo desktop and used lcd monitor (less trauma and drama if it accidentally electrocutes itself- my in laws aren’t tolerant of my mutant powers) I can get back to what I do best. Not designing. Hence this post and much missed frandz-blogstalking. Ali Hasan just asked me to write him a long mail about what I’ve been up to… I’m having a bit of a problem getting it past the 30 word mark. What have I been up to?

Let’s see.

  • The last official shadi dawat was yesterday. It’s over. Praise the Lord, Hallelujah.
  • I have a free lancing stint. Yeay. I get to stay at home and still look busy.
  • My new aim in life is to open a bakery. I kick Pie in the Sky’s ass.
  • I just lost a size. My fitness Nazi sister-in-law freaked 2 kilograms off my body. I ask her permission when to eat and what to eat, resulting in me looking thinner, but scared out of my mind.
  • I watched some pretty awesome movies the past 2 months. Maybe I’ll review them for your benefit; it all depends on how lazy I’m feeling. But if my current condition is any indicator, you won’t be reading them. Ever.
  • Err… Married stuff.
  • I’ve been sending my resume to every art school in this city. Even an assistant lecturership’ll do.

So. That’s about it. If you don’t count trying to make a place in my susral, forming some sort of bond with my mother and sisters-in-law and just being a good bahu as an activity, then I haven’t really been up to much. I don’t read the papers any more since I find the consistently smiling face of Asif Zardari on ever f-ing page the biggest incentive to stay ignorant that the world can offer, and I don’t watch Pakistani channels- be they ‘entertainment’ or news. My attitude to life is cynical enough; I don’t want to dive into pessimism.

Now that a year and a half has passed since Zardari’s election, and almost 2 since PPP has come into power I can’t help but thinking; isn’t it strange that the biggest step towards democracy and liberty (a free media) was taken by a military dictator? And that he was the only person in Pakistan’s history willing to face the masses and their questions?

Isn’t it ironic then that the leader of the ‘biggest democratic party’ in Pakistan does not allow question answer sessions with journalists, and that his party’s biggest justification for his ineptitude is that his wife was murdered two years ago?

Why can’t this country follow any political norm?

Comments
10 Responses to “Back. Or so i think. Again”
  1. Leena S. says:

    Ah so im not the only person around who misses Musharraf and his frequent press conferences.
    And i guess im in pretty much the same situation, i just cant write any more….not that i was any good at it wen i was, but at least i felt the urge to write.

  2. Minerva says:

    Review Inglorious Basterds. I wanted to … but never got around to doing it. It’s probably Tarantino’s finest movie ever.

    There’s a certain ‘bleh’ness with the world that comes post-marriage. Things that got you really excited once just don’t seem to trigger your adrenaline any longer. Or things that didn’t really catch your attention begin to get huge in your view afterwards. The yinyang shifts. Just did a post about it. So I get what you feel. I get what you’re going through. While I have plenty to say about Zardari, I’d much rather stalk a cooking website.

    And I know it’s because I’m transitioning right now and getting to know these newer roles and trying to adjust with newer things. That doesn’t mean I’m not concerned about the country anymore.

    It just means I’d rather make sure lunch’s there on time first.

    And some day I’ll find a balance. I’ll find a place that can keep me from being a total airhead and yet allow me to converse about Shan Masalas and new embroidery patterns.

    Some day.

  3. Leena S. says:

    so its all three of us going through the same transitional phase…makes me feel so much better

  4. M says:

    Does this mean you’ve moved to karachi post marriage?

  5. Hira S. says:

    M
    I’ve been in Karachi forever. Lol! i guess i’m the only one who hasn’t moved from Karachi post marriage 😀

    Leena
    I dunno what happened. I was never this blank even in my burned out thesis days!

    Minerva
    Sigh. I fell in such total lurve with Christopher Waltz in Basterds. I have never been so scared of a Nazi character in any war movie. It was inspired. But it’s not Tarantino’s best movie. That is undeniably Pulp Fiction.

    BUT Mahw, there’s this movie you have to watch. Dev.D. It is so un-Indian it’s unbelievable. And it is the most creative interpretation of Devdas I could imagine. Plus- the songs are kickass.

  6. Minerva says:

    Oooh love the header.

    And I stand by I.B. being the best of Tarantino as yet. Didn’t like Pulp Fiction that much. Kill Bill (one AND two) either.

  7. Leena S. says:

    same here…the header is simply awesome
    and i am sure u liked emotional attiyachar from Dev-D 😛

  8. farooqk says:

    yeh married stuff kia hai? 😛

  9. Hira S. says:

    Farooq
    like you don’t know 😛

    Leena
    liked? i loved, with a vengeance.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 20, 2010 Leena S. Leave a comment Go to comments It actually makes me feel better that both Hira and Minerva are pretty much going through the same emotional transition as me even though we are […]



Leave a Reply

