0. Lift off

Didn’t expect me to be online today, didja?

That’s a hundred bucks (read dollars) for me, courtesy Absar. Yeay, shopping!

So November 6th is actually here. And I STILL can’t type at all. Mehndi and these extremely annoying nails make typing harder than clipping grass with tweezers on a football green.

I’ve realized long hair and nails are the biggest setback to women’s progress. We chop ‘em off and there’s just no stopping us.

 

I don’t know, do you expect a soliloquy about my feelings? What I’m going through- whether I’m together or panicking everybody else’s butt off? You shouldn’t.

I’ve been preparing for this day for a pretty long time. All girls do; this day is symbolic. This is the day a girl becomes an individual in her own right. And I don’t mean by getting married- I mean by leaving the house of her parents. Walking out of their shadow, stepping away from their protection.

Now we’re the tree- the guardian and the provider. It’s such a world of responsibility and unless we’re completely inept, our parents won’t be bailing us out all the time. After the romance dies down, real life kicks in, and it doesn’t matter if you’re not ready for it. If somebody’s fallen into the sea, and they can’t swim, they improvise. It’s unbelievable what man can come up with in desperate times.

 

So this is a toast to me. A toast to who I was and maybe one day, who I will be. I’ve had a good run. There’s not much I regret having done, and what I regret missing out on… well, life is long and unpredictable. Maybe SCAD’ll just pop up into my life the way S did.

“Hello Hira, we’ve accepted you for a full expense paid scholarship! All you have to do is show up at the airport, we’ll pay for the flight and dorm. Please don’t say no, our college would be proud to have you!”

Add a fridge full of candy and I might concede :p

 

Next time you see me here, I’ll be married.

I’m picturing a yacht with streamers all around and someone opening a bottle of wine…for what it’s worth, I’m still open to fantasies.

 

Here’s to me, ladies and gentlemen

And a reasonably happy tomorrow.

14444_340442370144_541730144_9739161_344198_n

 

 

 

 

Comments
15 Responses to “0. Lift off”
  1. Minerva says:

    Aww. Once again all the very best to you.
    Wish I could’ve been there on this day.
    But hope my best wishes are good enough.. all the way from here. 🙂
    xoxoxo and have a great day!

  2. Saadat says:

    Yep. Here’s to you, Hira.

    Good luck, and vaya con Dios. 🙂

  3. Good luck!

    And I bet you won’t be online tomorrow 🙂

  4. Musab says:

    Congratulations…and here’s to many more than reasonably happy tomorrows !!

  5. Minerva says:

    lol @ humaira’s comment!

  6. Humna says:

    Very realistic 🙂 Hope your dreams come true. InshAllah.

  7. Absar says:

    This is not fair, you know what I meant 😉

  8. Absar says:

    DAMN why can’t I comment on a single go! 😛

    1 (actually, technically 2) – you’ve got nails, I had my doubts after your last post 😛

    and 3 – it was 100 rupees to me, I’m the kangaal type, you know 😛 Baat suno, tumhara shadi se pehle hi dimagh kharab ho gaya? Bari aayien bucks = dollars wali! 😛

  9. shiny says:

    omg good luck!!!!!!!!! all the very best. hope EVERYTHING turns out great inshallah! omg im so excited.

  10. qa says:

    Aww, hopefully you had an awesome day 🙂

  11. A Desi says:

    wishing you the very best in ever after 🙂

  12. Senilius says:

    Can you loan me 50 of those bucks? 😛

  13. adeel says:

    LOL @ Senilius

    best wishes, hira.

    I wonder if this is the future (in sci-fi sense of the word). I mean, our lives… a bunch of people who barely know each other, and yet ‘know’ each other well enough to pass on good wishes on a rather intimate occasion of their lives.

  14. ibteda says:

    ~Sigh~ :))

  15. Naureen says:

    Good luck!! You sound really ready for marriage!!

Leave a Reply

