The Countdown begins- soon.

It’s surprising that with the little I have to do all day, I still don’t get time to blog. I wonder where time goes, and why it moves like a snail in front of you but once you pass it, it seems faster than a speeding bullet. In retrospect, you wish you had enjoyed the slow pace and savoured every moment. Memories are crap, I hate feeling sad about all I could have done.

It’s strange how my mum and I have started getting along two months before my wedding. She doesn’t get mad at me anymore, no week-long which eventually turns into month long silence spells because I’m just too stubborn to apologise, and no sloppily hidden verbal taunts about my various bad habits. Ammi’s getting soft. But then, I am trying my hardest to make up for all the years of intentional and unintentional torture I’ve put her through. We’re bonding, finally.

It’s moments like these I wish Time the snail would sit for a bit and take a breather. Have  a donut, smoke a cigar…I’ve got two decades of indifference, viral self-pity, pointless rebellion and laziness-for-the-heck-of-it to make up for. After the first two years of infancy, I’ve suffered 21 years of teenage- or should I say my parents have suffered? In any case, two months is peanuts…I wish I had been a better daughter.

Comments
7 Responses to “The Countdown begins- soon.”
  1. Anas Imtiaz says:

    Countdown kahan hai?? 😛

    On a bit serious note, this is human nature. You begin appreciating only when things are slipping (or have slipped) away. Maybe one day your mom will say that she misses the old stubborn nature of yours 😀

  2. Aarushi says:

    hahaha “pointless rebellion” ? no such thing as pointless rebellion, my parents are the sweetest people ever and I rebelled, don’t feel bad, your daughter will do the same.
    Peace before leaving, reminds me how all my mistakes were suddenly inconsequential because I was leaving….enjoy it 🙂

  3. farooqk says:

    how predictable! 😛

  4. Reminds me of a bad 70’s police drama!

  5. Hira S. says:

    huh?. the only 70’s police drama i know was chips.

  6. Minerva says:

    It really is surprising how parents begin to like you once you’re married.

Leave a Reply

