Getting to know you

When you’re sitting opposite each other at a café table, there aren’t that many places to look without giving the idea that you’re avoiding what’s right in front of you. You can’t stare at a menu that long, you’ll seem indecisive. You can’t glance around at other people; you’ll just seem bored or judgemental, or worse, unhappy being where you are. And you’re none of these, but you’re just not ready to look straight ahead. Not ready to look things in the face.

I stare at people sitting at the other tables. Compare myself to the women around and wonder if he’s doing the same. I wonder how long it’ll be before I feel right in my skin. Before I trust what comes out of my mouth. When I feel deserving of his respect and love.

Insecurity is a killer.

Comments
6 Responses to “Getting to know you”
  1. Usama Lali says:

    Hey hira thanks for all the post. Yesterday night when dad forced me to go to sleep early i.e. 1 o clock, I took out my cell phone and read all of your recent post till 3:30 in the mornin! I really owe you a thanks for givin me such interestin thoughts to read while hiding in my blanket and listening to all the lata rafi soongs on my heaadphones 🙂

  2. farooqk says:

    i SO want to say something here, however, i shall refrain 😛

  3. Minerva says:

    Insecurity is one of those incurable female diseases. Like PMS.

    Pay it as little attention as you can before it gets the better of you.

  4. Absar says:

    BOY this is fun! 😛

  5. Absar says:

    Oooh oooh, and I’m wondering – is the new header from one of these occasions? 😛

  6. Full Moon says:

    I like your new header! 🙂

Leave a Reply

