no jubilations on my side

How I hate my internet.
There are no words to explain how truly deeply I loathe it sometimes.
No other words but Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s
“How do I loathe thee? Let me count the ways”
I loathe thee to the depth and breadth and height my soul can reach…”

I loathe Egbert (my pc), I loathe my anti virus software, I loathe my mouse, I loathe my keyboard, I loathe my speakers which are so ancient they don’t even have an earphone socket…
I HATE them all.
And yet, the sadness, I cannot live without them.
I’m getting to the point where the only thing I can truly live without is my country.

I’ve mentioned before somewhere that not having cable is a blessing in some ways. This opinion of mine has gotten stronger nowadays because it gives me and my fiancé something to talk about. He tells me all the shenanigans of the press and politicians for the day and I laugh at them. It sure beats discussing finance. He knows nothing about art and design, and doesn’t seem interested in learning, and I don’t know crap about financing- but that doesn’t stop him from explaining it to me. Haye the difference between men and women…

Thing is though, these politician joke gets old. There’s only a short time you can keep laughing. At some point, you realize that it’s stopped being funny and started becoming repetitious. I’m tired of watching the same comedy routine for the 22 years I’ve been alive. I’m tired of watching “Democracy’s greatest victory” every few years, knowing how little it’ll matter in the future. It doesn’t matter who wins when both the contestants are swine.

So no, I won’t celebrate the CJ’s reinstatement. I don’t think the lawyers have done a great job. Anyone whose case has been in court for the last two years would know what a pain in the ass they’ve been to the ordinary people they’re supposed to be representing right now. The Supreme Court will not become honest and dedicated to the people, and the Chief Justice will not- and please let me underline this- NOT be the savior that this country is looking for.

Comments
26 Responses to “no jubilations on my side”
  1. Anas Imtiaz says:

    “….the difference between men and women” –> but u seem to hv taken the role of men here 😀

    oh yeah..CJ crap! thank god its over (hopefully)

  2. Agreed on all accounts, i.e about the CJ.

    As for finance! I hate finance and finance people! They are the reason we are in a recession right now!

    And dont worry, I went through the same phase! Actually that phase aint over yet, and I dont think it ll ever be over. But you learn to live through it.

  3. MAK says:

    I think this is not the right time to use such aggressive words as
    “The Supreme Court will not become honest and dedicated to the people, and the Chief Justice will not- and please let me underline this- NOT be the saviour that this country is looking for.”

    Give them space. May be history is “really” rewritten this time. As for not having a cable as blessing. I agree to it in a different sense….not going to write abt…bottom line is not having a cable “IS” a blessing.

  4. Rashid says:

    agree with MAK

    and CJ is way better than that sorry ass Musharraf 🙂

  5. farooqk says:

    bohot farigh ho! 😛

  6. Exactly!

    As for history being re-written this time… I think thats the motto of every damn election campaign! But it never seems to happen! No my friend, this is the new boss, same as the old boss, if not worse. Same old story, different characters.

    AS for sorry asses, that ‘ll define pretty much every damn Pakistani there is. So I would suggest that you guy not get your hopes up.

    In short! I agree with hira completely on the CJ matter.

  7. Leena S. says:

    I hate all of em. They are doing nothing but looting Pakistan and making a mockery of wat should be our strong institutions.

  8. Leena S. says:

    you have been chosen for the lemonade award

  9. Tazeen says:

    you have been here for 22 years, imagine the plight of people who have been living here for past 61 years. becharay

  10. jinkibachi says:

    HIRRRRRRRRRRRRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

  11. Leena S. says:

    are u going to update this blog ever?

  12. jinkibachi says:

    hey leena, lets form a society CURH,Committee for Urgent Recovery of Hira….we will ask safi to prepare her sketch then each of us will post it on our blogs..kia khayal hai? or shall we offer some sort of reward too?…

  13. Leena S. says:

    oh i am definitely in…but Safi could perhaps make a sketch of all the members of CURH making sure that all the male members are in skirts 😀

  14. jinkibachi says:

    ok thats IT..
    deserters deserve punishment…
    i will FLOOOODDD your inbox 😈 👿

  15. jinkibachi says:

    H

  16. jinkibachi says:

    I

  17. jinkibachi says:

    R

  18. jinkibachi says:

    A

  19. minerva says:

    what, you’re never going to write again?!

  20. Ali says:

    um PSA; hira’s stuck in her thesis work for her final submissions or something similar at TIP. she’ll be back when she’s done. at least thats her excuse for not being on for so long.

  21. And you would be her PA?

  22. Leena S. says:

    hira had a PA!! i never knew that

  23. Ali says:

    Had is correct, I’ve been laid off.

  24. minerva says:

    oh well thank god! at least there’s SOME news.

  25. jinkibachi says:

    Explanation Call
    Hira baby, you have been caught pink handed by none other than Pinky jinkibachi!! 😉 {yes i am totally farigh & a very real pain in the neck)..you have been caught commenting on Karachi Khatmal’s blog while totally neglecting your own 😈

    care to say anything in your defense?
    *wiggling eyebrows* *self-satisfied smile*
    😀

  26. Usama Lali says:

    Agree with MAK totally.

Leave a Reply

