The end of an era is nigh…

So my singledom will last for another 20 days and I plan to make the most of it. Though to be honest, I don’t have much clue how being engaged would be any different from being single for me. Other than the whole ‘having a fiance’ bit which seems very Dali-esque right now, I really doubt my life would change much. Or hmm…maybe it might. I’ve never been engaged before so I can’t really say, can I?
Considering that there’s no ‘Gossip Girl’ type party culture in this part of the world (or maybe there is and I’m just not a part of it, thank God) I really have no idea how to make these last twenty days worthwhile.

Ugh. There’s not a single thing I do now that I might be ashamed to do after the engagement. I am so boring.

I can’t help reading my last blog post over and over. Deep in my brain a little tiny Hira-gnome is pointing and laughing at me and saying “you thought your life couldn’t get any stranger? Imbecile” The past three days have been a whirlwind of the Wizard of Oz variety. One minute I’m in Kansas, second I’ve been spun around in a giant twister to land in the wonderful valley of Oz, which is lined with a chocolate brick road. Leading where? Hopefully to more chocolate. I sold my freedom for three boxes of candy and “Life, the Universe and Everything”. Shame on me.

To be honest though, I had imagined it to be worse, much worse. I’ve never been a romantic, and ever since two of my cousins got married and entered a life of turmoil I’ve imagined marriage to be synonymous with a tub full of wrenches and anvils suspended like a pendulum over your head, and with every swing a few wrenches and anvils fall out and hit your forehead. Oh, and don’t worry, the tub will never get empty. The wrenches spontaneously regenerate themselves and the anvils have the ability of mitosis.

And I thought if I was really lucky, I wouldn’t have a tub full; just a pail would be enough.

When my brain starts functioning (it does once in a while) and I start over-analyzing everything again I’ll realize I’m very very blessed. Unless something happens, like the guy realizing what a nutcase I am and saying ‘no!’ (I can hear my nani screaming already), I know I’m going into one of the world’s most wonderful families with a person who seems to be pretty nice. And most amazingly, my mother-in-law-to–be seems to be much fonder of me than my actual mother. I had no reason to say ‘no’ before, which is why I didn’t, and for the first time I realize not being head-strong can get you just as much happiness as being head strong can.

In the cynical little un-topia I used to live in, things like this weren’t possible. Turns out romantics knew something I didn’t.

Comments
34 Responses to “The end of an era is nigh…”
  1. Ali says:

    you never told me what he was like.

  2. Hira S. says:

    worry not. you shall have all the details.

  3. Leena S. says:

    i will come back to comment in detail waise but i guess that how life is….not as bad as we imagine it to be 🙂
    When rishtas have to happen, sab kitna aram sey hota hai na?

  4. Pinky says:

    *tentatively* umm would u spare my head n hence my life, if i congratulate u??
    wow, i will get pateesaz from here too..yayyy

  5. minerva says:

    Mujhe tasveer dekhni hai!

  6. Anas Imtiaz says:

    congrats…experience tells me girls dont like it on such occasions but that is how others react to it 😀

    @pinky: pateesa nai chorna kahin se bhi 😛

  7. Pinky says:

    @anas 😉

  8. Leena S. says:

    @ pinky
    pateesaz that we get here in karachi arent as good as the ones in lahore 😦 but kaam chal jaye ga i guess 😉

  9. Hira S says:

    it’s a mithai.

    And i doubt you’d find it at my engagement…my new family brought me chocolate 😀

    And yes Anas, most girls do, but this one won’t. I’ll take the congratulations and the gift you’re planning to send me from UK 😛

    Lol! It’s ok pinky. I’m actually happy MashaAllah. thank you!

  10. Oh kay? Is it me or culture is just too over rated! I really have nt heard of any methai by the name of pateesa!

    And you are not getting any engagement gift from me!!! Not until you start being your old narcissistic and spunky self!!!

  11. Leena S. says:

    @ safi
    just admit that you are kanjoos 😛

  12. Oh on the contrary, I m quite the sakhi dil!

  13. farooqk says:

    whoaaa!!!!! somebody’s gonna be doing it really soon!!! congrats!! 😛

  14. Hira S. says:

    can you try, for once, to not be disgusting?

  15. Absar says:

    Oy hoye I never thought I’d live to see this day!! Mubarkan mubaarkaan!!
    Now tell me – do I need to warn the guy NOT to hold the engagement near any amusement parks? 😛

  16. Rashid says:

    wah! kia zabardast news hay! congrats little hira.

    tum larkian jitna b shor karlo shadi k baray me but kaisa chutki bajata he razi hojati ho. mey bilkul harain nahi 😛

    karachiwali tu chuwaray daygi nahi but tum tu bhad deyna.

    @karachiwali: na! ya sab niyato ka khal hay.jis ki niyat saaf ho to rishta kia har kaam asani se hojata hay aur jis k niyat me fatoor ho,dhokabaz aur jerk ho tu rishta kia koi kaam bhi asani se nahi hota aur wo sari zindagi rota hay.

  17. OMG – totally unexpected! But – Mabrook woman! Mashallah… May Allah make it a happy union. Ameen.

    I seriously need to be visiting Pak – I’m going to miss out on Minveras, Leenas AND your wedding. [If it is this year. 😦

    Damn it!

    But this is also freaky, because all of a sudden the blogging females I knew are going down. I am NOT giving into pressure anytime soon inshaAllah…

  18. PS I too want details! 😛

  19. Leena S. says:

    @ purple
    u coming this eid na?

  20. I don’t think so.. :S Our plans aren’t usually confirmed till the end and from what I know we usually don’t spent eid ul fitr in Pakistan because of Ramadan. [Lol, ramadan is better here and if we come for Eid then we miss out on the last ten days over here or some of them cuz’ obviously we’d have to come a bit earlier].

  21. Rashid says:

    purpledrifter it means you are going to share your news in a couple of days? 🙂

  22. farooqk says:

    im not being disgusting, its completely natural, basic human needs!! go for it!! muahaha

  23. Rashid: Err, not anytime soon inshaAllah!

  24. Rashid says:

    purpledrifter sab larkian yahi kahti hain. tum loag pressure bardasht nahi karsaktay!!!!! 🙂

  25. Saad Ibrahim says:

    Congratulations 🙂

  26. hina says:

    this reminds me of the fact that you always said you can be kidnapped over chocolates….blah and blah….. girl you really are super blessed mashallah…

  27. hina says:

    i really hate this pink alien dude…!

  28. aarushi says:

    Now, I’m really curious…plz write more details about the rishta and the fiance…soon plz

  29. aarushi says:

    oh and congratulations

  30. Hira S. says:

    ha ha! I will. It’s probably going to be a password protected post though…don’t worry, i’ll mail you (and just you and a few others) the password

  31. Saadat says:

    Congratulations. 🙂

  32. Anas Imtiaz says:

    So its not only me who doesn’t know about pateesa!!

    and farooq is right and he actually said it in a not-so-disgusting way 😀

    lol @ “pink alien dude” 😀

  33. MAK says:

    okay leaving pateesa story aside….congrats in advance for your engagement.

Leave a Reply

