The Infinite Playlist!

nick_and_norahs_infinite_playlist

Asked for a feel-good movie and got it- miraculously. Opened Ares today and found Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist in the library. How’d it get there? Who downloaded it? The butler? The spirit of Saint Valentine’s month? Is he (gasp!) going to visit me tonight along with the Ghosts of Saint Valentines Month past and future? Wrong address, love. I’m not the cynic here…go visit Safi.

Anywho, I watched it and it was cute. The lead characters were all adorable and for once I didn’t hate the main girl with all of my adamantium heart; but true to form, in the end I still was a bit disappointed. A movie with a wonderful title like that raises a lot of hopes that are usually dashed on the rocks of lack of creativity. So even though I love Michael Cera for being the quintessentially darling high school nerd and that girl who’s name I don’t know for bringing in the bitterness that usually gives intelligent teenage girls the title of ‘bitches’- I didn’t love the film. What a surprise.

By the way, that last sentence was not meant to be sarcastic. It’s a teen movie…people like me who live in a suspended state of never-ending teenage should love it. I mean for crying out loud, this was my dream all through col-… ok it’s STILL my dream. Especially the gay best friends part. And that bit about living in New York City. And about being a rich somebody’s daughter (too late for that, huh?). These are the sort of the things I wish I could relate to. So why did I not worship it like I had once worshipped Ten Things I Hate About You? What did you say? Because I got older?! You jerks! How dare you point that out!!

Anyway, N&NIP is a pretty ok watch, even for the jaded, and I’ll tell you why. In the short one hour thirty minute run, you feel New York City in all it’s neon lighted glory…and those of us who fell truly madly deeply obsessively in love with it within the first minute of seeing the skyline will understand the need to at least spend an entire night just driving around, breathing in the city. Reliving the madness.

I’ll keep my adolescence with me for a while. I need one night of reckless teenage abandon so that the next time someone asks me “What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done?” I don’t have to reply “You don’t need to have done something to be crazy.”

Comments
13 Responses to “The Infinite Playlist!”
  1. Musab says:

    For a second there I thought it was another Thin Man movie. But apparently these are a different ‘Nick and Norah’…

  2. minerva says:

    lol @ spirit of valentine.

    if you like a chickflick, i’ll watch it.

  3. Hira S says:

    ha ha! you’re too cultured for this blog, Musab.

    And it was cute. Safe, unsurprising and sweet. Exactly what a feel-good film should be.

  4. easypie says:

    Funny.I watched this movie yesterday at work .

  5. starman says:

    hira suno naye wale bloj ko add karlena agar karo. purana wala tu delete kardo.

  6. easypie says:

    hira suno naye wale bloj ko add karlena agar karo. purana wala tu delete kardo.

    by starman February 9, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    ENGLISH DUDE

  7. Hira S. says:

    it’s the same fricken bloj!! i can’t even tell the difference!

  8. SAWJ says:

    gay best friends part

    That’s your dream? Nice! 😛

  9. Hira S. says:

    you would be surprised how many girls dream of having a gay best friend. they have the best characteristics of both genders. they give the best dressing advice, they have a guy’s honor system, and will honestly tell you whether those jeans make you look fat.
    (at least that’s what Hollywood and television has led me to believe)

  10. SAWJ says:

    Do let me know if you get a gay best friend, okay?

  11. Hira S. says:

    the spot’s open. want it? 😛

  12. SAWJ says:

    I’m not gay. I’m straight. Any other spots, maybe?

  13. Rashid says:

    though I don’t agree with every word said by him but hey.. he is still making sense 🙂

    http://www.pak-times.com/2009/02/09/only-for-nice-men-dont-let-your-woman-dump-you/

Leave a Reply

