Casablanca

(i had planned to password protect this post but decided against it. if i wrote it, i should be brave enough to show it to the world. Heck, why should i care what anyone else thinks?)

A kiss is still a kiss in Casablanca

Until I watched Casablanca I believed that nothing was worth half the hype surrounding it. Living in Karachi as long as I have, I’ve learned that Karachiwale will wax eloquent about everything under the sun and when you go check it out you’ll realize that it’s exactly like everything else under the sun and you’ve been taken for a ride. Be it Dhoraji’s golagunda or Jiwani’s sunset (which though beautiful, was a bit of a let down- I had expected the sun to melt into the ocean like it does in Karachi), Karachiwale have the bad habit of turning tolerably good things into “jis ne dekha, khaya, khareeda, pehna, uthaya, sulaya, khela, khilaya nahi us ne kuch dekha, khaya etc etc nahi” levels. The minute someone says “Oh, you haven’t seen that? You’re truly missing out” I understand that it’s probably quite average but that person needs some reason to feel superior and is using the one thing I haven’t seen as a way of getting the upper hand. Which is why I shall see Vicky Christina Barcelona though I do not like Woody Allen, and watching Scarlett Johansen talk makes me think of the Zombie Barbie of my nightmares and I shall have Zameer whatsisface’s boti kabab though I have an infinite fear of cholera germs.

I’ve digressed. This wasn’t meant as a rant against the strange people inhabiting the city I love and live in. It was supposed to be an ode to the movie that reminded me I used to be a romantic once.

It feels strange feeling so…sensitive. It feels strange feeling. I usually try not to do that very often.

So it was worth it. Worth the hype, and the frequent remarks of various Hollywood celebrities as the most ‘romantic film of all time’; and when I broke down and got weepy (shut up Farooq. Just. Shut. Up) at Rick’s parting dialogue with Ilsa I joined the ranks of countless women who have watched Casablanca all by their lonesome and wished for a love that would stay this vivid even as time goes by:

ILSA: But what about us?

RICK: We’ll always have Paris. We didn’t have, we’d lost it, until you came to Casablanca. We got it back last night.

ILSA: And I said I would never leave you.

RICK: And you never will. But I’ve got a job to do, too. Where I’m going you can’t follow. What I’ve got to do you can’t be any part of. Ilsa, I’m no good at being noble, but it doesn’t take much to see that the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world. Someday you’ll understand that. Now, now…

Ilsa’s eyes well up with tears. Rick puts his hand to her chin and raises her face to meet his own.

RICK: Here’s looking at you, kid.

And I cried. As cheesy as all of this sounds on paper (or typeface whatever) it’s the most moving scene I’ve watched in a long time. Maybe ever. And I’ve watched an unbelievable amount of romantic movies- courtesy my cousins and sisters.

Or maybe I’m getting softer. Oh hell, no.

Though I wonder, had everything worked out between Rick and Ilsa in Paris, and they did get married on the way to Marseilles, would they still be this crazy about each other so many years down the road? Not-having aggravates obsession, as love usually is, and who knows that better than I do?

Comments
30 Responses to “Casablanca”
  1. farooqk says:

    this karachawale syndrome is particularly dominant amongst the lame wannabe TIPUtatian kids! 😉

    TIPU kay bachay
    daal daal kachay!

    wah wah!! 😛

  2. farooqk says:

    hahaha you cried!! oweeiiinn!! 😛

  3. safiullahhussaini says:

    Good movie… Though I did nt like it much.

  4. minerva says:

    Okay, I did NOT read the whole thing. I’ve got both Casablanca and Barcelona sitting on my hard drive right now. Will watch them, read your post again and then comment.

    Yes. I AM farigh enough to do that.

  5. Hira S. says:

    what part of Just.Shut.Up farooq did you not understand? but then i forgot, iqran’s can’t read.

  6. minerva says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA!!!!!

  7. Pinky says:

    lemme get this straight,,when safi said, “if u havnt seen lallu kheth u havnt seen anything”…he was just being a typical karachi wala & there is NothinG extraordinary abt Lallu kheth, right???

  8. safiullahhussaini says:

    Yes… There is nothing extraordinary about Lallu khet, but that was in a completely different circumstances… When you DO go to Lallu khet, the traffic is SOOOOOOO bad esp around magrib that it take around an hour to get out of it, and that is just a single kilometer stratch of civilization…. Or should I say uncivil-ization!!

  9. Hira S. says:

    is wiki-ing so hard for you SAWJ?

  10. farooqk says:

    we read, we just dont obey! we’re so not institutionalized like your TIPUtatians! can you catch a frisbee yet?? you told me they were teaching you that last year, right?? 😛

  11. SAWJ says:

    Hell no, I don’t want to Wiki it!

    It’s bound to be a mood-killer and I already am not feeling quite myself these days so I’d better stay away from it.

  12. Musab says:

    Didn’t cry the first time, but I was 7 back when I saw it first, so I dunno, maybe I did.

  13. Hira S. says:

    yaar, to be honest, i’d be more worried if you did cry. For some reason i still can’t let go of the stereotypical image of the strong, silent, unbreakable male.

  14. safiullahhussaini says:

    You femenists want men to be the Alpha male types!!!

    So Hypocritical!!!

  15. Hira S. says:

    zahir he. we like challenges. as do you guys.

  16. safiullahhussaini says:

    Haha, No actually. We want women to be just NORMAL. No feminist or touchy feely ones!

  17. Hira S. says:

    soch he tumhari.

    men have this bad habit of always trying to get the girl they can’t. trust me on this one.

  18. safiullahhussaini says:

    Lady I know that fact much better than you could ever. For us it may be the thrill of the chase, But it is that thrill of the chase that also makes a lasting bond… Otherwise it may get boring after a while and one may want to get out of that predicament when the water is far over your head, which leads to frustration and blame and a lot of other bad stuff… But that all means that people should let the others know what are their intentions before actually getting into something…

    But unfortunately both parties dont and end up hurt and bitter in the end. Which attributes to deficiencies in both sexes, we tend to be head strong and stubborn to let go, and women tend to create this elaborate persona (which unfortunately the cant maintain over a long period) which discourages the other person to actually disclose their intentions.

    So in the end, there are Alpha males, and there are Alpha Females.

  19. farooqk says:

    i always believed in identifying the easiest target, weakening it and taking the kill! works like a charm, everytime… 😉

    I tried otherwise, and got jack shit! 😀

  20. safiullahhussaini says:

    Dude I agree… Strategy!!!! Man you have to plan!!! And when the time comes for a kill sjot… It feels so good!!!

    Man I m an adrenaline Junkie!

  21. farooqk says:

    arent you supposed to be a mulla?! 😛

  22. safiullahhussaini says:

    Why is that?

  23. farooqk says:

    cause i said so! 😀

  24. safiullahhussaini says:

    Aww is no one listening to wittow’ ow fawook?!
    Hehe
    Dude!!!! You can bully Hira but NOT me!!!

  25. farooqk says:

    What?! dude, u do know youre not making any sense dont you?! 😛

  26. safiullahhussaini says:

    I m sure I m not…. I m drained…. second rock climbing trip!!!

  27. Hira S. says:

    correction: farooq can TRY to bully me.

    sadly he fails to most of the time.

    itsh ok lil itty bitty baby, maybe the weak pathetic girls you hit on might get itta sa scared of you.

  28. farooqk says:

    i TRY and i succeed, however, hira just cant figure it out cause its too smart for her! 😉

  29. talhaabid says:

    This post states the reason why I don’t watch movies with girls!

Leave a Reply

