Ignorance is Sanity

Not having cable television limits you. You get information 8 hours late (on average) or through text messages where people assume you do know what’s going on, and then act shocked when you don’t. And it makes you feel that maybe the world isn’t falling apart as badly as it actually is.

But in cable-abstinence’s defense: the world is always falling apart. And really, the government news channel always makes one feel that good things might be happening in the country…somewhere. So what if they give the bad news (which is usually the actual news) in 2 seconds and devote the rest of the time to Ms. Rahman? We have democracy- isn’t that good news enough?

Thus I don’t really know what’s going on in Gaza (other than the semi-lurid details provided by Dawn and the pro-Israel-but-pretending-to-be-impartial Economist) I don’t have Geo to show me the countless dead bodies, and Al Jazeera to tell me how the Arab world is reacting (if it is reacting at all) or Fox News to give me Hilary Clinton’s latest press conference about the brutality of Hamas. I’m unbelievably backwards in this day and age. I still- can you imagine- rely on newspapers to give me my news!

And then when I read about everything, in all it’s gory detail, I wonder when it’s going to change, and how all of this can still be considered ‘News’. And I’ll try to figure out how long a people can keep fighting- and keep dying; and yes, keep killing.

And I know 50 years from now, when I’m 72 and senile and alone in my home wondering where my kids went and then remembering that my sister stole them when my husband was out playing golf, I’ll turn on the television (or whatever techno thing will be providing the news in those times) and will be watching the same things. The names might have changed- there might not be a Hamas but there will surely be another party like it- and then I’ll think that for all its aggression, and two eyes and a mouthful of teeth for an eye policy, Israel is still going to be as unsafe and insecure as ever. And until they kill every Palestinian alive, they’ll still be fighting.

And with every Palestinian they kill, the very forces they’re fighting will be getting stronger.

Maybe, just maybe they’ll realize blood asks for blood in return.

So if I understand that, when will they?

Comments
16 Responses to “Ignorance is Sanity”
  1. Pinky says:

    PTV kaum, huh??? my mother is also against cable/dish…but we finally got her overruled by baba during october 2008, stating the importance of news channels…n guess what?? emergency was imposed within 4 days…n news channels vanished (all my friends cursed me, “jahan 21 saal baghair cable k guzaar liye they, baki bhi guzaar laitin, munhoos larki”)

    as for gaza, i received this fwd msg…”I could have annihilated all the Jews in the world, but left some of them so you would know why I was killing them.” [Adolf Hitler]….n by God, i couldnt help but agree with him,,

  2. SAWJ says:

    There will come a time when Jews will be hiding behind trees and those trees will call out and say “He’s behind me”. And the followers of truth will stone all of them to death.

    This time may not be far off.

  3. Absar says:

    Since when did you start doing political commentaries? :s And you make your sister sound like a…. bad sister (yes, that’s an intense euphemism :P)

    And actually, everything will say “He’s behind me”, SAWJ, even rocks. Except for the Gharqat tree, which is known as Dozakh ka darakht. That’s why Jews actually plant this tree.

  4. SAWJ says:

    Yeah. All we need now is the third world war to start. 😉

  5. Saad Ibrahim says:

    I can’t describe how bad I feel about the whole Gaza episode I am out of words!
    btw who needs TV when you have internet!

  6. safiullahhussaini says:

    Prophecies are proohecies…. They dont happen until they do! But the small things? We do need to put a little elbow to make them happen! Yaar living here, I have seen some really great instances of Muslim unity, which makes your heart soar and you actually feel great being a Muslim. And some really bad ones that just make you want to scream and cry!

    But one thing is for sure, we need to be united, and that will only happen when we actually learn to be tolerant of the others. This is probably our penance for being disobedient, that not the culprits but the innocent get killed and slaughtered and their blood is actually on our hands!!!

    When are we ever going to learn???! its been a hundred and fifty one years since the rest of the world has started chipping away at what our ancestors had built, if not more! Are we still going to remain ignorant and indifferent?

  7. Ali Hasan says:

    kya baat hai hira, cheeti hain aap.

  8. karachiwali says:

    ignorance is surely a bliss especially in current times. i have stopped watching news channels cuz there’s hardly ever anything to make me feel good…i am anyway getting too pessimistic and i cant allow these news channels to make it worse.
    a really nice post btw

  9. minerva says:

    Good post, Hira. But it kinda goes to show you mankind’s in a terrible, terrible loop.

    signed, misanthropissed.

  10. safiullahhussaini says:

    Haha…

    @Minerva: FINALLY!!! someone with my bleak view of humanity!!!

  11. Pinky says:

    its unfortunate that we are living in a time where pragmatism has become equivalent to pessimism…whenever a realist contends that situation for Pakistan is going from bad to worse,,he is labelled as a pessimist…even if the poor guy has 1001 statistics to prove his claims…..my dream of playing a role in Changing the system is now dreaming itself…even a minor dent would be hard to inflict, let alone the change….no harm in trying though 🙂

  12. Rashid says:

    Good one Hira!

  13. You want to be updated about Gaza? I’d actuslly recommend the internet [Youtube videos to be more specific] then the TV because half of whats happening is not shown on TV anyway.

    But be warned, you should be able to stand the gore.

    May Allah SWT make things easier for us and unite the Muslim Ummah. Ameen.

  14. minerva says:

    Safi- we’re the blessed lot I tell you.

    @ Pinky – point well taken. When I tell people Pakistan is a failed state, they rule out every particle of my patriotism. Ajeeb bigotry hai!

  15. Hira S. says:

    hey guys. Ptcl died two days ago. It magically resurrected itself when i paid for the installation of maxcom. Define irony?
    Thing is i can understand the Jewish point of view. I’m not extremely pro Palestinian because i’ve read the history of the conflict in detail and their leadership has made HUGE mistakes. and they’re still making them. I don’t believe there is any such thing as a victim– at least at State levels. When someone’s out to get you, there’s usually a reason.

    And i wouldn’t hold with the ‘Musilms need to be united’ pov either. The last thing the world needs is a united group of ‘jahils’. Let’s look at the Muslim world first- The muslims in Africa (Somalia for example), Pakistan and Afghanistan’s Taliban, the pleasure loving Arabs of the Mid East…honestly united ho ke bhi kiya teer maar lein ge?

    Let’s look at the Jews in a completely non-muslim eye. Look at how far they’ve gone, and how much power they must have that even the world’s biggest superpower can’t say no to them. We have to fight the way they fight. With economics, science, and politics.

  16. karachiwali says:

    i totally agree with you Hira. Its our mistakes that we are paying for. They were working wen we were sleeping…and we havent woken up yet, we have just learnt to torch israeli flags on streets

Leave a Reply

