Microsoft Word 2007 is difficult. I have absolutely no idea how to format my document, and what with the rulers on the top and left being missing, the page looks horribly naked. Actually it doesn’t look naked. There are a hundred million icons on the top, many of which I have never seen before and quite a few on the bottom as well. In fact the overall look is a woman who’s wearing so much lingerie that she’s forgotten to put on her actual clothes. Sigh…to think, just the lack of a ruler makes a Word page indecent.

Today I’ve decided to write a long entry. As to what I’ll put in this long entry I haven’t decided yet. Needless to say, it’ll be the same self-absorbed babble that has become the norm of my blog, but with a difference! It shall NOT be self-absorbed! Ha! How’s that for a twist?

Ok I’ve found out how to turn the ruler on. Finally my page looks Muslim.

Oh cool…this is saving itself!

I really like this Microsoft Word version (: D)

Anyway, I return.

Living in Pakistan is never boring. Our political and social climate is so refreshingly insane that not only do we laugh at ourselves; we even have the world laughing with us. For example, the Baluchistan Assembly comprises of 42 members, out of which 38 are ministers. The Opposition consists of an individual. Yes, one person. That leaves 3 other people- hmm…maybe they were absent the day the Assembly was distributing ministries.

Just once I would like to be truly proud of being Pakistani, not just because I have to (non-patriots being synonymous to kafirs) but because I can’t help it, after all ‘we’re such a great nation.’ Constant repetition doesn’t make something come true. I’m not Angelina Jolie; I can tell myself I’m her til my lips fall off rather than get poofy and I’ll still be Hira Saiyed-the delusional. So we can tell ourselves we’re a great nation til we’ve brainwashed all the children we can find, but when Geo shows lawyers jumping on innocent cars and smashing their windows, and calls them “guardians of democracy” then sane people begin questioning themselves. Who do we trust? The Media? The Politicians? The Military? Where can we find somebody who can tell the nation what it needs to hear, rather than what it wants to. This is a nation of idiots. And the best thing to do with an idiot is to take him by his ear, tell him that he’s being a dork, and set him on the right track, telling him that there’s a reward for him if he does his work right. You don’t let an idiot make his own decisions.

Gradually, I’ve come to wonder whether Pakistanis deserve leaders who actually wish to improve the country. We don’t want our lot to get better because then we’ll be left with little to complain about; and being deprived of our national hobby will just cripple our society…what will Kamran Shafi write about? Who will Hamid Mir insult on his show? How can we enjoy misery if we have nothing to be miserable about?

No, we’ll always find ways to be miserable. Pakistanis will whine about being bored in Jannat.

Comments
One Response to “”
  1. Majaz says:

    This is a nation of idiots. And the best thing to do with an idiot is to take him by his ear, tell him that he’s being a dork, and set him on the right track, telling him that there’s a reward for him if he does his work right. You don’t let an idiot make his own decisions.

    Haha, good idea.

    Now all we need to do is find Pakistan a nice ol’ nanny. 😛

Leave a Reply

